New Biker - Maintenance? - Ducati Supersport 939 Forum
 6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheels

New Biker - Maintenance?

This is my second bike, but I only had my first bike for a few weeks. I want to know what I need to do to maintain my Supersport. Is there a list and if so how often do I need to do maintenance. Just to let you know I’m a complete newb and have no mechanic experience, which means I have no tools
Ed K and Ventura17SS like this.
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 04:47 PM
Knee Dragger

Did you even LQQK at the owners manual?

https://downloads.ctfassets.net/oifk..._EN_-_MY17.pdf
Grossi.BP likes this.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 07:05 PM
Knee Dragger

Garage
If you're new to motorcycle ownership and new to Ducati, I would recommend sticking to having the dealer do all the maintenance for you. Check your tire pressure, oil and coolant levels per the manual before every ride. Wash the bike when it's cold with a gentle hand using soap and warm water, dry with your softest terry towel. Clean/lube the chain every 200-500 miles.

Otherwise, have the dealer do the rest at the annual service intervals. Most dealerships have service discounts in the winter months as their mechanics get bored with nothing to do. You can usually save around 10% to 20% if you have your service done in that window.
JaggerCat likes this.

1994 900 SS/CR
2017 939 SuperSport S

It's Italian. If I can get it to start, it'll win.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheels

Thanks Psy
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 10:56 PM
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by psyopper View Post