Starting Problem - Ducati Supersport 939 Forum
 40Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheels
 
AndyFaeLarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 47
Likes Received: 42
Garage
Starting Problem

Hi,


Wonder if anyone has an issue starting the bike?


What happens is, when I use the starting switch nothing happens a few times then maybe after a number of attempts it will fire the starter motor and the engine will start no problem. It has done this for a while and I did mention it to Ducati Glasgow - who said they checked and all was fine, it is a bit random. I wonder if its just the switch on the handlebar or somthing a bit more sinister deep within the mechanics.



Oh and it doesn't matter if its hot or cold...



Any help or advice is welcome.


Andy

AndyFaeLarky

Last edited by AndyFaeLarky; 03-08-2020 at 12:38 PM.
AndyFaeLarky is offline  
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 01:22 PM
Training Wheels
 
Grossi.BP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Polish living in Czech Republic
Posts: 126
Likes Received: 120
Side stand sensor? I heard about this so many times - not in Ducati though but my friends used to have such symptom.
Ed K and AndyFaeLarky like this.
Grossi.BP is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 01:47 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheels
 
AndyFaeLarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 47
Likes Received: 42
Garage
Thanks, worth a look.

AndyFaeLarky
AndyFaeLarky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 02:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
Ed K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: America
Posts: 5,372
Likes Received: 2779
“Nothing happens” means, even the starter motor doesn’t work?

2017 Ducati SuperSport S
2015 Ducati Scrambler
Ed K is online now  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
Training Wheels
 
AndyFaeLarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 47
Likes Received: 42
Garage
Yep, no noise or clicking - nothing.


Its weird.

AndyFaeLarky
AndyFaeLarky is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 07:02 PM
SuperSport Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 1,585
Likes Received: 772
Connection, or a kill switch, side stand switch? Neutral switch? Do you pull the clutch lever? Intermittent electrical can drive you nuts.
Ed K likes this.

John L

Ducs quack at midnight and 9am
LowRyter is online now  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 07:17 PM
Knee Dragger
 
theresanothersteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Adelaide Hills
Posts: 831
Likes Received: 1067
Garage
When something like this happens my first port of call is the battery terminals.

She's not an Italian supermodel; they're high maintenance.
She's the cute Italian girl from school you wish you kept in contact with...
theresanothersteve is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 08:52 PM
Knee Dragger
 
Miweber929's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Woodbury, Minnesota
Posts: 879
Likes Received: 727
Do you have aftermarket levers on it?

Mike

- 2017 Ducati Supersport S
- 2011 Triumph Sprint GT
- 2010 Yamaha WR250R
Miweber929 is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 12:40 AM
SuperSport Master
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 2,229
Likes Received: 2461
@AndyFaeLarky it happens to mine too the same as you have described. only every now and again and its done it for years, Im used to it now and don't panic anymore as it has always started. I just switch it off and start again. The most dead connects (For lack of a technical term lets call it that) I have had is 2 in a row. It used to make me think I had a dead battery, I still think its low current connected but more from the contact of the connections in the switch rather than the battery.
Rhino is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 03-09-2020, 04:46 AM Thread Starter
Training Wheels
 
AndyFaeLarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 47
Likes Received: 42
Garage
I have an Oxford battery Omtimiser so the battery is always topped up, I have after market exhaust / bypass switch and levers but it did it before they were fitted.


It just a pain in the arse, when the bike was service last year there were no error codes in the ECU either.


Andy

AndyFaeLarky
AndyFaeLarky is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome