Ducati SuperSport Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! Really happy to be joining the club as an owner of a 2021 950S. I'm a 39 year old animator in the video game industry in Vancouver.

It was a strange journey that led me to purchase the Supersport. Having completed my motorcycle training course a little over a month ago, I wrestled with the decision to either buy a used less powerful bike to learn on, or buying a new bike with all the bells and whistles. In the end I decided to just get the bike I wanted....which at the time was a 2021 Yamaha MT09 SP, the other close choices being the Supersport and the Ninja 1000SX.

I called the Yamaha dealer and was told they had two MT09s in their inventory, one which had been sitting in the showroom for a few months, and one that was currently being assembled. I told the salesman that I would prefer the one being assembled, and he brushed that off and told me he would send the bike to their location that was closer to me so that I could test ride it, that should have been a red flag.

I went to the dealership for the test ride and immediately noticed some scuffs on the swingarm and a light scratch on the tank. I wasn't overly concerned as it looked like something that could be easily buffed out. I enjoyed the test ride and I decided I wanted an MT09, but asked if I might see the one being assembled, as the one I rode had the scratches. The salesman immediately launched into a defensive tirade and accused me of having scratched it during my test ride. I was furious and demanded a refund of my test ride deposit.