Ducati Supersport 939 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my second bike, but I only had my first bike for a few weeks. I want to know what I need to do to maintain my Supersport. Is there a list and if so how often do I need to do maintenance. Just to let you know I’m a complete newb and have no mechanic experience, which means I have no tools

·
Registered
815 Posts
If you're new to motorcycle ownership and new to Ducati, I would recommend sticking to having the dealer do all the maintenance for you. Check your tire pressure, oil and coolant levels per the manual before every ride. Wash the bike when it's cold with a gentle hand using soap and warm water, dry with your softest terry towel. Clean/lube the chain every 200-500 miles.

Otherwise, have the dealer do the rest at the annual service intervals. Most dealerships have service discounts in the winter months as their mechanics get bored with nothing to do. You can usually save around 10% to 20% if you have your service done in that window.

Reactions: JaggerCat

·
Super Moderator
5,958 Posts
If you're new to motorcycle ownership and new to Ducati, I would recommend sticking to having the dealer do all the maintenance for you. Check your tire pressure, oil and coolant levels per the manual before every ride. Wash the bike when it's cold with a gentle hand using soap and warm water, dry with your softest terry towel. Clean/lube the chain every 200-500 miles.

Otherwise, have the dealer do the rest at the annual service intervals. Most dealerships have service discounts in the winter months as their mechanics get bored with nothing to do. You can usually save around 10% to 20% if you have your service done in that window.
@Theashman88

Yes...

Also, your owner’s manual has all mtce intervals and what is serviced...with a few errors. (E.g. plugs are changed at 18,000 miles not 9,500).